Now Playing: The Zodiac Age

tweeten-1499820584085.jpgI have a love/hate relationship with Final Fantasy XII. I played it a long time ago when it first came out, but I never really finished it or gave the endgame content much thought. Back then, I don’t think I was really in the right mood to appreciate it. A lot was going on in my mind. It was a shame, because I spent many hours with my cousins playing Final Fantasy Tactics, many more playing Final Fantasy Tactics Advance on my GBA, and the setting of Ivalice was one of my favorite.

Flash forward a few years, and I found out about the International Zodiac Job System version of the game. I didn’t really get to play it that much, as my only options were in emulator due to the region locking on the PS2. But that version solved a ton of issues I had with the original game. I’ve always been a big fan of the Final Fantasy job system, and was really excited to see it added to the game. One of the biggest flaws of the original version of Final Fantasy XII was that you simply ended up with six characters who did everything, so having the jobs be a choice (a permanent one at that) really added a ton of depth to the game.

And now here we are, almost ten years later from the release of the International Zodiac Job System version, and Final Fantasy XII has arrived in glorious high-definition. Unfortunately, I had to settle for the download version of the game as I live in the middle of nowhere. It was really surprising to see that neither of the stores (one of which includes Walmart) didn’t have the game at release date. Usually high profile releases like this are a lock-in even for them. Either way, while I’ve only gotten to play the game a little bit due to the fact that I have to download most of it, I’m in love with the remaster. I feel like this time, being in the right mood to appreciate a Japanese role-playing game like this, plus all the improvements they made to the game will keep my attention to the very end. I definitely can’t wait to dive into all that this game has to offer, and I intend to stream as much of it as possible for others to watch too.

Also, this game is one of the few games on the PS4 that actually lets you play while it downloads. I figured they’d only allow you to do the prologue, but it actually goes a little bit further than that. You get you pick your first job for Vaan and do the game’s first hunt even. Unfortunately, when you try to go back to the city, you get this hilarious scenario…

DEfZppGWAAEK1uc.jpg *snrk*

Kudos for leaning on the fourth wall there, developers.

Leave a Reply

