Stop making me play every day, game!

 

This has been something that’s been bothering me lately. I haven’t quite been able to put it into words until right now, but I think it accurately describes a big problem I have with a lot of mobile games. It also impacts a handful of non-to free play games in other genres, particularly Massively-Multiplayer Online games.

To put it simply, it’s where a game requests that the player keep playing each day for bonus rewards.

daily1

Mobile games are infested with this, and I feel it’s particularly disrespectful towards the precious time of the players playing the game. The image above is a free to play Japanese mobile game called Fate/Grand Order, that was jut recently released in English. One of the hooks that it has is that if you log in every day, you’ll receive an item called a Saint Quartz, which can be spent for the chance to potentially unlock powerful new heroes. The game also has a login streak feature, where if you continuously log in each day you’ll get even more rewards. Essentially, instead of letting a player play when they feel like it, the developers felt the need to bribe their players with a reward each day.

Fate/Grand Order is not the only game with such a system, of course. Many other mobile games, including the popular Puzzle and Dragons, have such systems as well. Often I lose interest in these mobile games after awhile, or I’m forgetful and play something else., and then I slip up a day. Once I slip up once, I get disillusioned and end up slipping up more. Which means I eventually stop playing, and stop caring.

I understand that a lot of these games run off a free to play model, and thus they need a hook to keep players playing, but I feel like the industry really needs a better way to handle this. For me, when I play games, I tend to dedicate chunks of time to a single game at once. So for example, I might buy a new RPG, dedicate my free time to it for a few months, and then move on once I beat it. Or more commonly whenever I get bored as games tend to be pretty massive these days.

That’s not to say that I stop playing everything else. I have a handful of games that are stress-relievers and stuff. There are games like Overwatch and Playerunknown’s Battleground which I do enjoy from time to time. For the most part, I don’t feel compelled to play these every day however. They have some daily/weekly mechanics revolving around cosmetic items, but I don’t come back to them and feel that I’m at a disadvantage mechanics wise, simply because I didn’t play every day. I can jump in, do a few practice matches, and get up to speed with having fun.

But one of the worst examples I’ve seen lately, is not a mobile game, but an MMORPG. Specifically, it’s Final Fantasy XIV. A game that I otherwise love and adore.

Once you complete the main storyline of Final Fantasy XIV and it’s respective expansion packs, you hit endgame. Endgame itself for the most part is fairly typical MMORPG stuff. You do harder content to get better gear to challenge even harder content, or you craft, or do one of the many many side activities. On the whole, Square-Enix is pretty good about keeping the game fresh, and never really feeling boring. Plus, every three months, they add what is basically a miniature expansion pack to the game, including new story content and endgame content to tackle.

But where Final Fantasy XIV’s biggest problem comes in at is in it’s obsession with getting players to play every day, and play enough each week, so that they can obtain an item that lets them get new gear.

daily2daily3

Square calls these Allagan Tomestones. The basic idea is that there’s two of them. One of which you can obtain as many as you like, whenever you like. The other of which you can only obtain so many a week. And the best way to do that is by a roulette of content that gives it’s biggest reward daily. So you’re encouraged to set aside a decent amount of time (on average thirty minutes to two hours) just to do this content each day, for at least a few times a week. And of course, if you fail to max out the amount of the currency within the week, you’re now behind other players in regards to getting the best gear and completing the highest end content. Final Fantasy XIV itself is a social game, so I find myself only maxing out the currency whenever others are really motivated to play. Thus a similar trend to the mobile games above happens, where my friends are ahead of me in gear, or behind me in gear, and someone (usually me) gets disillusioned of playing.

If there’s one wish I had for gaming right now, I really wish games would better respect the time of their players. There has to be a better way to go about this. Games don’t need to dominate our lives to the point that we do nothing else. It’s one thing if a player desires to put in that time because the game stands up on it’s own merits, but this kind of weird desire to force people to play every day has go to stop. Certainly, a game like Final Fantasy XIV, which runs on a monthly subscription, has no reason not to have something better for it’s players then a daily requirement at endgame. Why not have a catch up mechanic so someone doesn’t need to log on several times a week? I don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

