Danganronpa V3 – Chapter 1 and 2 impressions

THERE WILL BE SPOILERS FOR THE FIRST TWO CHAPTERS OF THE GAME. IT WILL VERY LIKELY RUIN THE GAME FOR YOU IF YOU HAVEN’T FINISHED THEM.

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

 

20170926143659_1.jpg

Really surprised that I managed to stay spoiler free on Danganronpa V3, but I’m glad I did. I’ve finished the first two chapters so far, and it’s been a fantastic ride. The game has a slightly more grounded feel, comparable to Danganronpa 1, but the cast is fairly unique.

20170926195242_1.png

Getting the obvious discussion out of the way right now tho: The Chapter 1 plot twist. I admit I wasn’t expecting it at all. The demo version of Danganronpa V3 went out of it’s way to hype Kaede up as the Heroine, what with having Makoto and Hajime as guest stars, and them constantly reminding her that she’s the protagonist now. So naturally I was completely baffled when I got to the screen to select the culprit and went through everyone. There was a nice “Oh no, they didn’t…” moment there as I realized that she was the only option left. I also didn’t expect to the switch over to Shuichi, the other protagonist at the time.

On the other hand, I’m a little bit disappointed with how fast Kaede was killed off. She’s a very likable character and different from the usual Danganronpa fare. I really kind of wish in retrospect she had survived to Chapter 2 or 3 to make the plot twist even more powerful, and to flesh her out a bit more.

Difficulty wise, Chapter 1 was pretty easy outside of the plot twist. Chapter 2 ramped things up considerably and was a much harder case. I expected it to be a bit of a filler case after the first chapter, but found myself enjoying it due to the well done characterization of everyone involved with the case, especially Kokichi.

20170926214859_1.png

I have no idea who will live and die yet, but I’ve got a few guesses right now. So far I’m thinking some combination of Shuichi, Kaito, Tsumugi, Kokichi, and Maki will survive to the end. But given that this game has done a fantastic job of screwing with my expectations, I expect to be proven wrong there somehow. Either way, can’t wait to dive into Chapter 3!

Leave a Reply

